CCE logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

CCE Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling

TL;DR
  • The Certified Computer Examiner is administered by ISFCE, and public sources reviewed do not show a fixed 2026 testing calendar.
  • Your online exam score has a maximum 90-day validity window, so schedule backward from the date you can finish the practicals.
  • The timed online component is at least 100 multiple-choice questions in 60 minutes, followed by three consecutive forensic practicals.
  • Initial exam fee is USD $495; retake is $150, so a rushed first sitting is costly.

Why CCE Exam Dates Work Differently

If you searched for a neat table of 2026 testing windows, here is the honest answer: the public ISFCE pages reviewed for this article do not publish a fixed calendar of exam dates, application deadlines, or seasonal windows for the Certified Computer Examiner credential. What they do publish is a process, and that process has its own clocks that matter far more than a calendar date.

Unlike certifications that run on a few set testing windows each year, the CCE is built around a multi-step path: eligibility and approval, a proctored online component, and three forensic practical investigations. Your "exam date" is really a sequence of milestones, and the one hard deadline in the public policy is a 90-day validity window on your online score.

Don't trust unofficial date lists: Any third-party page that claims a specific 2026 CCE testing window should be treated with suspicion unless it cites ISFCE directly. Always confirm current scheduling with ISFCE before paying or planning travel or leave from work.

For a broader picture of how the credential is structured, see What Is CCE Certification? and the eligibility rundown in CCE Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify.

What You Are Actually Scheduling

Because the CCE has more than one component, "scheduling the exam" means planning several pieces. According to the ISFCE Exam Process policy, the structure looks like this:

ComponentFormatScheduling Implication
Online knowledge examProctored; at least 100 randomly generated multiple-choice questions in 60 minutesOne sitting; book a quiet, distraction-free block
Forensic practical investigationsThree consecutive investigations, each requiring a written reportNeeds sustained lab-style time; total duration not verified publicly
ScoringFour components weighted equally; overall average of at least 80%A weak component drags the average, so plan prep time for all four

The exact number of delivered questions has not been published, and the Evaluation Standards policy allows up to ten experimental questions that are excluded from scoring. That means you cannot calculate a precise per-question margin in advance. For the scoring details, including a boundary conflict at exactly 75% in the published policy text, read CCE Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass.

The 90-Day Clock That Matters Most

The single most date-sensitive rule in the public policy is the 90-day window. The Exam Process policy gives the online score a maximum 90-day validity, and it requires candidates who test after training to register to begin certification within 90 days.

Two cautions about reading this correctly:

  • The 90 days is a validity window, not the length of the online exam. The online sitting itself is a 60-minute timed component.
  • It is also not a verified total duration for completing the whole practical process. Do not assume 90 days is enough for everything; confirm what ISFCE expects you to complete inside that window.

Key Takeaway

Don't sit the online exam until your practical-investigation readiness is close behind it. A strong online score that expires before you have practiced imaging, file-system analysis, and report writing buys you nothing.

This is why the question "when should I take it?" is really "when will I be ready for both halves?" Our guide on How Hard Is the CCE Exam? Complete Difficulty Guide 2026 explains why the practical portion often sets the real pace.

What to Settle Before You Book

The certification page describes several gates that must be cleared, and each one takes calendar time. Build them into your timeline rather than discovering them after you have picked a date.

Approval steps that add lead time

  • Background check and ethics agreement, both listed as certification requirements.
  • Notarized independent-work statement, which requires arranging a notary.
  • Board approval, whose timing is not published.

Eligibility routes you must reconcile

Public ISFCE descriptions of exam entry are inconsistent. The certification page lists alternative routes: issuer or authorized training, 18 months of verifiable experience, or a board-accepted digital-forensics credential. Full Member status requires 18 months, while Associate status is available without it. The linked Exam Process policy instead describes training or a digital-forensics degree, 18 months of experience, and 40 hours of documented self-study together.

Confirm your route in writing: Because these descriptions disagree, do not assume a universal degree requirement or a universal hours requirement. Email ISFCE, describe your background, and ask which documents you need. Do this before you pay the exam fee and before you start the 90-day clock.

If you are still working out whether you qualify, start with CCE Requirements 2026, and consider how the issuer's course fits in via CCE Training.

Fees, Retakes, and Renewal Timing

Dates and dollars are tied together on this credential, because a failed attempt or a lapsed window has a price. The official indexed store lists:

ItemFee (USD)
Initial exam$495
Retake$150
Two-year recertification$250
Reinstatement$250

The store does not state a member versus non-member split, so confirm your exact price at checkout. The gap between the $495 initial fee and the $150 retake is a practical reason to treat your first scheduled attempt seriously: you are paying for preparation time as much as for the sitting. The full breakdown, including training costs, is in CCE Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown.

Plan the two-year cycle too

Certification runs on a two-year renewal cycle with continuing professional education guidelines. The current required CPE total, and whether casework or practical alternatives can substitute, are not verified in public sources. Once you pass, put your renewal date on your calendar immediately, since reinstatement carries its own $250 fee.

Working Backward From Your Target Date

Because the calendar is flexible but the 90-day score window is not, the smartest approach is to pick your online exam date last, not first. The ten issuer preparation modules give you a natural order. Note that these are training topics, not an official weighted blueprint; ISFCE has not published per-topic exam percentages, and the module count does not establish ten exam domains.

Here is one way to sequence prep so the foundational material is solid before the online sitting, and the hands-on skills are fresh when the practicals begin:

Weeks 1-2

Foundations and acquisition

  • Introduction to Digital Forensics: terminology, process, evidence handling
  • Forensic Imaging: write blocking, acquisition methods, hash verification
  • File Types and Structures: signatures, headers, carving concepts
Weeks 3-4

File systems, the heaviest technical stretch

  • File Systems: FAT, exFAT, Linux, UDF
  • NTFS File System: MFT records, timestamps, deleted-file recovery
  • Practice by examining real images rather than only reading about them
Weeks 5-6

Platform and artifact analysis

  • Windows Forensics: registry, event logs, user activity artifacts
  • macOS Forensics and Mobile Forensics
  • Email and Cloud Forensics
Week 7

Reporting, ethics, and the exam window

  • Legal, Reporting & Ethics: drill report structure, since every practical requires a written report
  • Timed practice questions; then book the online exam and start the 90-day clock

Why this order? File systems and Windows artifacts underpin most of what you will examine in a practical, so they belong early enough to practice repeatedly. Reporting and ethics come last for the knowledge exam but should be rehearsed alongside hands-on work, because the written reports are a graded part of the process. Your pacing may differ; the full topic-by-topic breakdown is in CCE Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 10 Content Areas, and a longer plan lives in CCE Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt.

When you reach the final stretch, run timed sets on the CCE practice test site to build pacing for the 60-minute online component. Practice multiple-choice questions help with the knowledge exam, but they do not replace the three required practical investigations.

Exam-Day Conditions to Plan Around

Scheduling is more than picking a day. The Evaluation Standards policy requires the timed online component to be completed without books, notes, outside assistance, internet sites, or other materials. That has real consequences for how you choose your slot:

  • Pick a block with no interruptions. A proctored 60-minute sitting is unforgiving of household or office noise.
  • Clear your workspace in advance. No notes or reference material means no sticky notes on the monitor and no second browser tabs.
  • Don't schedule it cold. Your reference habit has to be replaced by recall, so finish memory-heavy topics such as NTFS structures and file signatures before booking.
Pacing math: At least 100 questions in 60 minutes works out to well under a minute per question. Candidates who spend their prep time only reading, and never answering timed questions, tend to feel this squeeze first. A cheat-sheet style review such as CCE Cheat Sheet 2026 can help consolidate recall before your sitting.

Calculator rules, tool permissions during the practicals, and adaptive testing behavior have not been verified in public sources. Ask ISFCE directly so you are not surprised by what is or isn't allowed.

What Is Not Published (Ask ISFCE)

A responsible date-planning article should be clear about what it cannot tell you. As of the public sources reviewed (ISFCE training, certification, Exam Process, and Evaluation Standards pages, reviewed September 27, 2026), the following remain unverified:

  • A fixed 2026 calendar of testing windows or application deadlines
  • The current external proctoring vendor and its available time slots
  • The total duration or deadline for finishing all three practicals
  • The exact number of questions delivered and the scored versus unscored split
  • A dated public exam version and official per-topic percentages
  • The current required CPE total for renewal
  • Whether a score at exactly 75% passes a component, given conflicting policy wording

The pass rate is also not publicly disclosed, so be wary of any source quoting one. For what is and isn't known, see CCE Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows. If you are weighing whether the investment of time and money is justified before committing to a date, Is the CCE Certification Worth It? Complete ROI Analysis 2026 and CCE Jobs cover the career side.

Frequently Asked Questions

Does ISFCE publish fixed CCE exam dates for 2026?

The public ISFCE pages reviewed do not show a fixed 2026 calendar of testing windows or deadlines. The process is organized around approval steps, a proctored online component, and practical investigations. Contact ISFCE to confirm current scheduling options before you plan around a date.

How long does my online exam score stay valid?

The Exam Process policy gives the online score a maximum 90-day validity window, and candidates tested after training must register to begin certification within 90 days. This is separate from the 60-minute online sitting and is not a verified total duration for the whole practical process.

How long is the online CCE exam?

The proctored online component contains at least 100 randomly generated multiple-choice questions to be completed in 60 minutes. The exact delivered question total is unpublished, and up to ten experimental questions may be included but not scored.

What does it cost if I need to retake?

The official store lists the initial exam at USD $495 and a retake at $150. A member versus non-member split is not stated, so verify your price at checkout. See the full breakdown in our CCE certification cost guide.

Can I use notes or reference sites during the online exam?

No. The Evaluation Standards policy requires the timed online component to be completed without books, notes, outside assistance, internet sites, or other materials. Tool permissions for the practicals are not verified publicly, so ask ISFCE.

Ready to pass your CCE exam?

Put this into practice with free CCE questions across every exam domain.